Water Department


Department head: Rosemary Menard

212 Locust St, Suite A, Santa Cruz, CA 95060

(831) 420-5220

The Water Department serves almost 100,000 residents in Santa Cruz and adjoining unincorporated areas. Its service area extends from almost Davenport to past 41st Avenue and from Henry Cowell Redwood State Park to the ocean.

At the direction of the City Council, the water department is responsible for these tasks:
• Collecting and move water
• Storing and treat water
• Distributing and tracking how much water is used
• Billing customers for their water use
• Providing tools and resources to conserve water
• Protecting the Newell Creek, Zayante and Laguna watersheds.

The Santa Cruz Municipal Utilities Office handles customer service for the Water Department. During the COVID-19 pandemic, the counter is closed. Checks can be sent to SCMU, PO Box 682, Santa Cruz, CA 95061-0682. Or visit the department website to find out about online bill payment options.

Join Us Today!