Planning Commission


• Phone: (916) 727-4740

The Planning Commission consists of seven volunteer members appointed by the City Council. Members each appoint one commissioner to serve a term concurrent with their term in office. Additionally, two members are appointed at large to serve terms of two years. Commissioners are selected based on their interest, experience, and expertise. For more information about the appointment process, refer to the appointments resource on the website.

The Planning Commission holds public hearings to review a multitude of projects related to land use planning for the city. The commission may also review proposed city ordinances, the annual capital improvement plan, and other issues related to consistency with the General Plan. Meetings are broadcast live on the city's webpage and can also be seen later on the city’s YouTube channel. To make a public comment, send it via email to Each comment will be read aloud by the Planning Commission Secretary for up to five minutes.

Second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m.

Commissioner Thomas Scheeler

Commissioner James Remick

Commissioner Marcelle Flowers

Commissioner Max Semenenko

Commissioner Oleg Shishko

Chair Andrew Van Duker

Vice Chair Natalie Price

Past Members

Marcelle Flowers
Term ended: Dec. 31, 2022
Janelle Ingle
Term ended: Dec. 31, 2022
Michael Nishimura
Term ended: Dec. 31, 2022
Andrew Van Duker
Term ended: Dec. 31, 2022
Talaya Turner Mike
Term ended: Dec. 31, 2022
Join Us Today!