Arts Commission


• Phone: (408) 535-1260

The Arts Commission provides the City Council with advice and recommendations on city policies and programs that affect public access to a wide variety of arts and cultural opportunities in San Jose. Its 11 members are appointed by the council. 

The commission’s areas of interest include cultural planning, financial support for the arts and cultural celebrations, public art projects, arts education, and other issues that encourage the appreciation and creation of art. The commission also considers the role of artists and arts enterprises in sustaining the creative economy.

The Office of Cultural Affairs provides administrative support for the Arts Commission.

Regular commission meetings take place every third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

Commissioner Trami Cron    

Commissioner Elizabeth Alvarez    

Commissioner Audrey Rumsby    

Commissioner Juan Carlos Araujo    

Commissioner Smita Garg    

Commissioner Bryce Lynch    

Past Members

Lynne H. Brown
Term ended: June 30, 2022
Charlie McCollum
Term ended: June 30, 2022
Richard James
Term ended: June 30, 2022
Lynne Rosenthal
Term ended: June 30, 2022
Join Us Today!