California Local Logo

Image of United States seal. 

United States Overview

Overview   Government Directory   Digest   Articles   Calendar

Address:   Washington, D.C.

Official Links:   WEBSITE

The federal government is divided into three branches. The legislative branch—the elected members of the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate—enacts laws. The executive branch—the elected president and vice president; the Cabinet members; and federal agencies—carries out laws. And the judicial branch—the Supreme Court and other courts—evaluates laws.

California Local Pin Marker Recent Articles

Monterey County Weekly logo LOCAL NEWS
Student loan debt relief blocked after judge's ruling.

The Federal Student Aid Office of the U.S. Department of Education has stopped taking applications for President Joe Biden's student loan debt relief program after a district court judge in Texas ruled it was unlawful.

Monterey County Weekly logo LOCAL NEWS
Jimmy Panetta and Zoe Lofgren sail to reelection in redrawn congressional districts.

There’s no respite in the schedule of a sitting member of Congress. The day after celebrating his reelection for a fourth term on Tuesday, Nov. 8, Rep. Jimmy Panetta had a full schedule of events taking him all over Monterey…

California Local Pin Marker Local Government Digest

President Biden Announces New National Monument Near Nevada-California Border

Avi Kwa Ame National Monument will protect sacred Native American sites, wildlife.

(Nov. 30, 2022) → Read the full Santa Cruz Sentinel report
Black Justices Bring Diverse Experiences to California Supreme Court

In November, Associate Justice Kelli Evans became the third Black associate justice on the California Supreme Court. Black justices now make up half of the associate justices on the state’s High Court.

(Nov. 29, 2022) → Read the full The Sacramento Observer report