City Council


248 Main St, Soledad, CA 93960

The five-member Soledad City Council is made up of four councilmembers and a mayor, all of whom are elected at large. The council creates legislation and sets policy and is responsible to the residents of Soledad for all municipal programs and services. Councilmembers also appoint citizens to the city’s commissions, committees, and boards. All meetings are open to the public; agendas are available in advance.

Meetings: Held at 5:30 p.m. on the first Wednesday of each month.

Related News

Monterey County Weekly logo From Monterey County Weekly...

Image for display with article titled Soledad Mayor Anna Velazquez wins a second term; Fernando Cabrera leads for council over two incumbents.

Political newcomer Fernando Cabrera is leading in a three-way race for two open seats on Soledad City Council, while Mayor Anna Velazquez has a strong lead over challenger Maria Corralejo.

Salinas Valley Tribune logo From Salinas Valley Tribune...

Image for display with article titled City of Soledad Welcomes New Councilmember

Soledad welcomed its newest councilmember, Maria Corralejo, who took the oath of office Sept. 21 to fill the seat vacated by former Councilmember Carla Strobridge.

California Local Pin Marker From Salinas Valley Tribune...

City salaries will account for half of the funds, which City Manager Brent Slama said was in line with where the city should be. For the remainder of the money, 41 percent will go to services and supplies, 7 percent for capital projects and 2 percent for other charges.

Past Members

Fred J. Ledesma
Term ended: Dec. 31, 2020
Picture of Alejandro Chavez
Alejandro Chavez
Term ended: Oct. 31, 2023
Picture of Carla A. Strobridge
Carla A. Strobridge
Term ended: Sept. 20, 2022
Picture of Marisela Lara
Marisela Lara
Term ended: Nov. 30, 2022
Join Us Today!